March 15th, 1858

October 25, 2006

Reached Geneva. To my keen disappointment I found Bishop DeLancey absent. Mrs. DeLancey had sent me a telegram before my departure, but I did not receive it. I met Dr. Hale immediately. Dr. Wilson and Dr. Metcalf came in soon, and we talked everything over. Dr. Metcalf and Prof. Towler met me in the evening. About nine o’clock the College campus was bright. Dr. Metcalf exclaimed, “It is wonderful”. Dr. Towler went out to inquire the reason, and soon Dr. Metcalf followed. He came back immediately and said, “The College building is illuminated for you:. We therefore walked past the building. The students greeted the “new president” with much hand-clapping. They also lighted bonfires.
Talked much with Drs. Metcalf and Towler about the College. I asked many questions, all of which they answered in the most satisfactory manner.

Leave a comment