April 8th, 1862

September 28, 2007

It is four years to-day since I was introduced to the students and Faculty in College Chapel by Bishop DeLancey in a speech, and made a speech myself in reply to the Bishop, the Faculty, the students and to Dr. Hale, my predecessor. How swiftly these four years have gone by! And yet they have been to me years of much labor, anxiety and not a little trial. Sometimes it seemed as if my health might break down entirely, but with God’s blessed aid I have not abated a jot of heart or hope, but kept straight on with my work, and really, except that for a good while I could not safely read Prayers in Chapel, I have performed every other duty successfully- as I believe and trust.
I have within that period accomplished, with God’s blessing, my chosen work of securing an enlarged endowment for the College: and now if life and health are spared I propose to address myself earnestly to perfecting the instruction, discipline and religious influences of the institution.

Leave a Reply

