October 1st,1866

February 28, 2008

Go to the cars and say good-bye to Mr. Williams, who left for Boston. Mr. Lockwood was there, and a few Alpha Delta Phi’s, but no others. I am sorry on many accounts to part with Mr. Williams but I think it best that he should go under all circumstances. I fear he would have made trouble for us here. He is impracticable to a certain extent, and I am afraid will be running his head against posts all through his life. He is very conscientious and faithful, but he is painfully self-conscious – never forgets self, but makes it a disturbing center of influence. I certainly recognize many fine qualities of mind and attainment, and earnestness and devotion in him, and I certainly wish him well, and I pray God that he may be prospered in his new work.

Read prayers in Chapel. I shall be the Chaplain now. I hear the sophomores in Natural Theology. At noon I have the seniors in debate. From two to four I have the College Register open and hear excuses.

Leave a Reply

