November 30th, 1866

March 4, 2008

St. Andrew’s Day

Awake early, turning over in my mind my little address for this day in the Chapel. Read the Ante-Communion service at morning Chapel, and gave an address of fifteen minutes, first sketching the life of St. Andrew, and then speaking on that saying of John the Baptist to the two disciples “Behold the Lamb of God.”

Read in Juvenal. I was always very partial to Juvenal, and I once had a great deal nearly committed to memory. I heard classes in it for many years in Trinity College, where for ten years I had sole charge of the Latin department. Prof. Stewart was Professor of Ancient Languages but he gave up the Latin entirely to me.

 

Leave a Reply

