February 13th, 1867

March 7, 2008

I got a letter this morning from Rev. Prof. John P. Huntington of Trinity College, asking me to say “yes” to the question whether I would take the Presidency of Trinity College, and I “would be unanimously elected by the Board of trustees”. I wrote to say I would consider the question kindly, if brought before me in any tangible form.

I was sorry that Huntington wrote to me on this subject of the Presidency of Trinity College, and I have felt disturbed and anxious about it. I really think it was impossible that I might be induced to accept that position. Sill I could not fairly address myself to the subject till it was put more authoritatively. What a change for me to go back to Hartford!

Leave a Reply

