April 21st, 1867

March 12, 2008

Easter.

Service at half past six in the Chapel. The order was that which Bishop Coxe used at St. John’s, Hartford, and which is indicated in his Notes on the Services. There were calla lilies on the Altar.

I made an address on, “Christ is risen,” and the power of the Resurrection, and Christ the Victor over Hades. At quarter to eleven we had full service, sermon and Holy Communion; text, “I am the Resurrection and the Life.” At 7:30 P.M. read and preached in the Chapel a third time, on, “Never man spake like this man,” I also read service for Dr. Bissell at the children’s service at four. I never did so great a day’s speaking and reading; yet I do not feel tired now – at ten o’clock. Went with —- to distribute the calla lilies from the Chapel.

Thus has been filled up a very busy day, with many joys and some drawbacks. The worst feeling is that Lent is over and that I have profited so little by its holy discipline and its extraordinary service. I look back over it with very sincere regret. May God in mercy forgive my shortcomings and strengthen me by His grace to live in future more in accordance with His holy will.

Leave a Reply

