April 30th, 1867

March 12, 2008

Hartford.

Talked with Prof. Brocklesby, who asked me what I thought of coming here. I said there were some considerations in its favor – that it had seemed as if it would be pleasant to have the co-operations of old friends and pupils. He asked me if I had not had some trouble at Geneva. I replied, nothing that amounted to anything – that in the matter he referred to, the Trustees stood by me, and the thing was quite manageable. Called on Mrs. Brownell, who told me she had heard of the probability of my coming, and had cried over it for joy. She cried again over it while speaking of it to me. She has just entered her eighty-first year.

Leave a Reply

