April 8th, 1867

March 12, 2008

Somewhat weary in mind. May the greatest God grant me peace. A letter this morning from Bishop Williams, who will not give me up. He affirms that it is necessary for me to accept the office of president of Trinity College, Hartford. To all my questions concerning the affairs of that College he replies in a manner which pleases me. On account of this I was anxious the whole day. God direct me in the way of duty. I would do all things to the glory of God. Nine years to-day are finished from that day in which my office of president of Hobart College began. The greatest thanks to the best God for His tenderness towards me – His servant. Grant to me wisdom in this office in the future. I thrust in Him alone.

Leave a Reply

