May 24th, 1867

March 13, 2008

The Gospel Messenger came to hand to-day, saying I had accepted a call to the Presidency of Trinity College.  I saw Dr. Gibson at Waterloo. He told me it had gone in and could not be recalled. I was very sharp with him. I told him it was the third time he had done the same thing in reference to Trinity College. He had hear it talked of in Rochester as a settled matter, and supposed of course that it was true that I was elected. I had written him a letter begging him to say nothing on the subject, but all in vain, it seems.

Leave a Reply

